Aug 3, 2013 03:23 PM EDT

Brady Fultz Bags Both Sportsman Features at Black Rock

Morgan Colegrove and Rich Vleck, DUNDEE, NY, (August 2, 2013)- Mother Nature has not been kind to Black Rock Speedway, to say the least.  A rainstorm an hour before Friday’s event was not enough to deter action, which was good new for Brady Fultz.


Fultz, the local second-generation driver, used the resulting heavy track conditions to power off the cushion and pick up the win in the make-up 50 lap Sportsman feature that was held-over from June 23.  It opened a great night of racing at Black Rock Speedway.


Rob Humphreys led the majority of the event, as Fultz worked his way to second, but a late race caution made for an all new contest. Fultz won the drag race to turn one on the restart, and ran the cushion to the win. Humphreys held off Randy McCulloch for second, with Loren Lincoln fourth, and points leader Donnie Lawson rounded out the top five.


Later, in the Sportsman regular main, Fultz again used the cushion to come from a 10th place starting spot and make a late-race pass on Brent Ayers. Rick Newton overcame early evening mechanical woes to challenge for the runner-up spot in the closing laps, but settled for third behind Ayers at the checkered flag. Eric Bell had a solid fourth with division rookie Chris Fisher crossing the line in fifth.


Defending Late Model Champion John Waters took the green in the sixth place starting spot, but by the time a third of the laps had been entered into the record books, the Wellsville, NY pilot had taken command and held off all challenges to pick up his second straight win at BRS. Brian Knowles and Jared Hill kept the pressure on through a pair of late race cautions, with Knowles finishing second, and Hill a close third. Steve LaBarron and Barry Payne rounded out the top five.


The Street Stocks kept the crowd on the edge of their seats as the lead group included five or six cars throughout the entire event, and four different leaders were recorded at the scoring line. Rich Sharpteen II overcame an early spin to work his way back into the lead group with five laps remaining, and the battle for the lead was four abreast coming to the checkered flag. With heavy contact among the leaders, and after subsequent actions in the pits, Creekside racing teammates Dylan Cecce and Rich Sharpsteen were stripped of the their finish positions, and Chuck Winslow was credited with the win. Craig Crooker was second, Jeremy Potrzebowski third, Gene Balmer fourth, and Jake Karlnoski fifth.


The IMCA Modifieds presented a five-car battle for the top spot throughout much of their feature, with Phil Yaw leading the group to the finish for his first sanctioned win in the division. Eddie Sites pulled alongside the leader on several occasions but had to settle for second over Rich Karlnoski. Honorable mention goes to Bruce Tinsley as he was a key player in the lead group throughout the event until retiring to the pits with two laps to go.


Jayson Smart and Rick Horton debated the top spot in the RWD 4-Cylinder event, until James Kreidler III powered to the front. With five laps remaining though, Kreidler experienced mechanical woes and the pair regained the top spot. Smart led the way to the finish with Horton holding off a fast closing Scott Bradley at the line.


Jeremy Trank and Adam Delgrosso ran wheel to wheel for the entire FWD 4-cylinder feature with Cody Baker just inches off the pair's back bumpers. Trank edged out the win by inches over Delgrosso with Baker solidly third. Craig


Joey Rodburn dominated the Bandits, while Allison and Trista Teed battled for the second spot. Allison recorded second with Trista third.


Up next week at the Black Rock Speedway will be annual MRO Celebrity Night.  Along with the Celebrity Match Race and features for weekly divisions, the URC and PST Sprints will square off for the $4,000-to-win A-Verdi Sprint Championship.  For more information, visit


Black Rock Speedway Results: 8/2/2013-

Teacher Enduro Night


Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Make-Up Feature from 6/23 (50 Laps)- BRADY FULTZ, Rob Humphreys, Randy McCulloch, Loren Lincoln, Donnie Lawson, Chris Fisher, Chris Daugherty, Dale Welty, Chris Silvers, Fran Hilton, Brett Ayers, Eric Bell, Rick Newton, Nicole Hoag, Ron Cartwright, Ray Smith, Brett Buono, Dave Yehl


Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- BRADY FULTZ, Brent Ayers, Ricky Newton, Eric Bell, Chris Fisher, Chris Daugherty, Loren Lincoln, Rob Humphreys, Chris Silvers, Donnie Lawson, Brett Buono, Randy McCulloch, Ron Cartwright Jr., Dale Welty, Bob Buono, Josh Butler, Brandon Butler, Casey Pavlick, Nicole Hoag, Dave Yehl, Ryan Davids, Bill Laviolette, Ray Smith, Lance Keesey, Fran Hilton.


Heat Winners- Hilton, Silvers, Daugherty.


Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- JOHN WATERS, Brian Knowles, Jared Hill, Steve LaBarron, Barry Payne, Donnie Smith, Sparky Hills, Carl Cleveland, Steve Kent, Bruce Miller, T.J. Mazur, Jason Knowles, Quinn Sutherland, Brandon Smith.


Heat Winners- J. Knowles, B. Knowles.


Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- CHUCK WINSLOW, Craig Crooker, Jeremy Potrzebowski, Gene Balmer, Jake Karlnoski, Kevin Parsons, Jeremy Perkins, Chuck Pruden, Tracey Dunn, Dave Matwiejow, Bob Maynard, Nate Daggett, Laverne Knickerbocker III, Rich Sharpsteen (DQ), Dylan Ceece (DQ), Brett Parsons (DNS).


Heat Winners- Cecce, Karlnoski.


IMCA Modified Feature (20 Laps)- PHIL YAW, Eddie Sites, Rich Karlnoski, Brad Sites, Scott Sebring, Todd Stone, Jake Maynard, Brad Smith, Bruce Tinsley, Jared Spalding.


Heat Winners- Sebring, Sites.


Signs Plus of Kanona/ Watkins Glen NAPA 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- JAYSON SMART, Rick Horton, Scott Bradley, Chris Mashewske, Brian Grant, Del Cummings, Russ Wassner, Chad Ayers, Erica Bell, Bruce Kinner, Chris Percy, Mike Ziarno, Kailey Crandon, James Kreidler III, Cory Glover, James Kreidler Jr, Jerry Nichols, Bobby Teed, Billy Cagle.


Heat Winners- Smart, Horton.


Front Wheel Drive 4 Cylinder Feature (12 Laps)- JEREMY TRANK, Adam Delgrosso, Cody Baker, Craig Mahrt, Jeff Witt, Nate Freeland (DNS), Bob Potter (DNS).


Heat Winner- DelGrosso.



Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- JOEY RODBOURN, Allison Teed, Trista Teed, Brandon Matthews, Matt Mashewske, Desiree Force.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Averdi Storage Containers