Jan 2, 2012 04:54 PM EDT

Black Rock Speedway Reflects on 2011 and Prepares for 2012 at Upcoming Awards Banquet

Rich Vleck, DUNDEE, NY (January 2, 2012)- With the new year now off and running, Black Rock Speedway is in full gear preparing for the final portion of the 2011 season with the Annual Awards Banquet.


On Saturday Night, January 14, the racing season that concluded just two short months ago will be reflected ceremoniously at the Watkins Glen Community Center.  Cocktail hour will begin at 5:00 p.m. with a catered prime rib at 6:00 p.m. with the awards presentations to follow.


Drivers that finished in the top-10 in points in any of the six weekly divisions will be presented with trophy awards.  Monetary awards will be distributed to any driver that ran 2/3 of the points-paying events in 2011.  Together, over 75 drivers will receive recognition.


In addition to the points payouts, the special awards of top rookie, sportsmanship, most improved and best appearing car will be named in each division.  Also, the trackwide awards of hard luck of the season, Doris Hoag Leading Lady, Jack Christensen Media Award, Charles Hill Memorial Award and Dutch Hoag Award for Excellence will be presented.


Staying with tradition, Rocky the Race Clown will have his annual “Rocky Awards” tuned up and ready to go.  This is always a can’t-miss part of the festivities.


BRS Owner Dean Hoag will also make his “State of the Speedway” address, with details of the 2012 schedule, which will include the addition of the FWD 4-cylinders to the weekly racing slate.


Those interested in locking up their ticket to the banquet need to order ASAP.  Ticket orders can be sent to Black Rock Speedway, 82 Main St., Dundee, NY, 14837 for $32 per ticket.  You may call with questions at 607-382-8613.  For more information, visit

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford