Sep 2, 2011 11:21 PM EDT

Ray Bliss Ends Black Rock Regular Season in Winnerís Circle

Wonderling and Fisher Brothers Share Race and Championship Victory Lanes

Rich Vleck, DUNDEE, NY (September 2, 2011)- On a night when motorhomes and buses were raced and then smashed up, plenty of great racing was found around the Black Rock Speedway in the final night of the regular season.

Ray Bliss Jr. only led a few hundred feet of the 20 lap sportsman feature, but it was the right stretch for the veteran to win his third win of the season.

Bliss, of Warsaw, chased after fellow veteran Fran Hilton from the drop of the green flag and was inching closer by diving down to the bottom until the final lap when he finally pulled even with the No. 3 entering the final set of corners.Bliss’ No. 12z stuck to the bottom of the track perfectly coming off turn four and was able to capture the win by a about five feet.

As the top two sorted it out for the lead, Randy McCulloch would cap off a quality season with a third place effort to finish in that position in the points.Ross Vleck would cross in fourth, with Tyler Siri completing the top five.

On a lap nine restart, a multi-car incident occurred coming off turn two, putting track champion Donnie Lawson into the wall and out of the event.Lawson had earned enough points in his heat race earlier in the night to lock up his third straight title.

The late model had a tight championship battle down to the wire, but it was a former two-time champion that dominated the event.

Jeremy Wonderling, of Scio, scored his first win of the year, moving by Dave DuBois on a lap nine restart and holding solid command of the lead the rest of the way.Wonderling worked well all over the track and once in front was never challenged.

As Jeremy led the field, his brother Mikey was working on sewing up his first track championship.Mikey Wonderling and Dave DuBois were in a fierce battle, with the driver finishing in front in the feature winning the title.DuBois held that spot for much of the race until a lap 11 restart when his right rear tire went down, forcing the 012 pitside.DuBois would return two laps down and with Mikey Wonderling crossing in second, the driver of the No. 57J would clinch the championship.

Glenn Whritenhour had a fine run charging up to third.Quinn Sutherland would nip John Waters at the line for fourth.

Eric Fisher scored the win in the street stock finale, but like the Wonderling’s in the late models, the brother Chris locked up his second straight championship in the division in the process.

Fisher, of Bluff Point, beat Nate Daggett back to the finish line by just inches.“Coon Dog” led from start to finish but Daggett pressured him most of the way to earn the win.

As Fisher and Daggett duked it out to the win, Scott Sebring would hold off Andy Fisk back to the line with Bob Buono completing the top five.

Chris Fisher got caught up in the first caution of the event with Rich Sharpsteen, forcing his No. 37 to the pits for repairs.Fisher made it back on to the track just before the restart and stalked Bob Buono, the driver he was challenging for the championship, the rest of the way to finish sixth and lock up his third title in four years.

For the first time in 11 weeks, a driver other than Mike Smith won the IMCA Modified Feature.Josh VanTassell, scored his first win, dominating the final 14 laps of the event after inheriting the lead on a lap six incident.

As VanTassell held command of the field, Pete Neff would hang on for second while Chris Fleming charged up to round out the podium positions in third.

Coming to complete lap six, Phil Yaw and Rich Karlnoski were battling for the lead when Yaw’s No. 98 darted sideways and caught Karlnoski’s No. 55x, directing it into the wall.As Yaw came back across the track, Mike Smith ran over his tire and cut down his own; all three cars would be relegated to the pits for the reminder of the event.

Brandan Morseman finished the 4-cylinder season on a hot streak winning his second race in a row and fourth overall to claim the final division win of the season.Morseman, who will finish fifth in points, had the four drivers ahead of him in points chasing after his No. 44, but he was fast the entire way to claim the win.

Dylan Cecce would run up to second to celebrate his first adult division championship in style.Cecce would hold off Ray Speicher in a fierce battle, with Scott Bradley and Rick Horton completing the top five.

In the final bandit race of the season, Brandon Matthews became the seventh different winner of the season.Matthews, who turns 14 on Monday, led all 10 laps of the event, but had to work hard on a lap seven restart to hold off Lisa Cornish and Zach Teed for the win.

Teed’s third-place finish, coupled with his cousin Allison’s fifth place finish, allowed Zach just enough points to earn his second straight division title.Allison was involved in the only caution of the race when her car was turned around entering turn one.

Racing will return to Black Rock on October 21 and 22 for Dutch Hoag’s Natipnal Open Weekend.For more information, visit

Black Rock Speedway Results: 9/2/2011-

Wreckapalooza Night

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- RAY BLISS JR., Fran Hilton, Randy McCulloch, Ross Vleck, Tyler Siri, Brady Fultz, Loren Lincoln, Chris Silvers, John Venuto, Steve Swarthout, Brandon Butler, Kevin McPherson, Russ Morseman III, Trevor Sutherland, Gary Hotelling, Josh Butler, Chris Comstock, Erick Williams, Donnie Lawson, Brent Ayers, Sean Sommers, Zack VanNordstrand, Serenity Sutherland.

Lap Leader- Hilton 1-19, Bliss 20.

Heat Winners- Vleck, Bliss, McCulloch.

Division Champion- Donnie Lawson

Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- JEREMY WONDERLING, Mikey Wonderling, Glenn Whritenhour, Quinn Sutherland, John Waters, Chris Peacock, Carl Cleveland, Steve LeBarron, Brandon Smith, Dave DuBois, Jared Hill, Buck Paine, Jason Knowles.

Lap Leaders- DuBois 1-8, J. Wonderling 9-20.

Heat Winners- Cleveland, DuBois.

Division Champion- Mikey Wonderling.

Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- ERIC FISHER, Nate Daggett, Scott Sebring, Andy Fisk, Bob Buono, Chris Fisher, Rich McIntyre, Erica Bell, Rich Sharpsteen I, Don Reeves, Kenny Evans, Jake Karlnoski, Dylan Cecce, Jeff Elliott.

Lap Leaders- E. Fisher 1-20.

Heat Winners- C. Fisher, E. Fisher.

Division Champion- Chris Fisher.

IMCA Modified Feature (20 Laps)- JOSH VanTASSELL, Pete Neff, Chris Fleming, Bruce Tinsley, Mike VanDyke, Kevin VanAmburg, Steve Sinn, Dave Yehl, Mike Smith, Rich Karlnoski, Phil Yaw.

Lap Leaders- Karlnoski 1-5, Smith 6, VanTassell 7-20.

Heat Winner- Karlnoski.

Division Champion- Mike Smith

Signs Plus of Kanona/ Watkins Glen NAPA 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- BRANDAN MORSEMAN, Dylan Cecce, Ray Speicher, Scott Bradley, Rick Horton, Willy Grant Jr., Val Stephens, Del Cummings, Willy Cagle, Tom Mahoney, Chris Ayers, Mike Ziarno, Ray Cornish, Brian Thompson, Jeff Moore.

Lap Leaders- Cummings 1-2, Morseman 3-20.

Heat Winners- Cummings, Horton.

Division Champion- Dylan Cecce

Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- BRANDON MATTHEWS, Lisa Cornish, Zach Teed, Lance Irwin, Allison Teed, Joey Giardina, Trista Teed, Matt Mashewske.

Lap Leaders- Matthews 1-10.

Division Champion- Zach Teed.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford