Apr 30, 2011 02:02 AM EDT

Brady Fultz Repeats to Lead Black Rock Winners

In 2010, Brady Fultz had a single feature win in the sportsman division; even before April of 2011 has ended, he already has two.

Fultz, of Dundee, charged up from his 15th place starting spot into the top five early on and took the opportunities presented to him to get out in front and stay there.

After winning on the regular season opener two weeks ago, the handicap process placed the Troyer No. 70 back in row eight for the start. After tiptoeing into the top-10 on the opening laps, Fultz moved to the top when clear of traffic and picked his way into the top-five.

Just after the race reached its half-way point, Trevor Sutherland and Rob Humphries, the top two at the time, made contact with one another in turn two, with Humphries spinning in front of the field. On the restart, Fultz would dive underneath Sutherland and drive away from the pack while Sutherland was relegated pitside with a flat tire from the contact with Humphries.

The last hurdle for Fultz came after a lap 17 caution when Ray Bliss Jr. had one more crack at the lead, but it was to no avail as Fultz would hang on to win once again, this time in a different fashion.

“We came from a little farther back and the car is still real good, and we’re real happy,” admitted Fultz in Victory Lane.”

Fultz was able to keep his car glued to the bottom in the closing laps, while those behind him used a myriad of lanes. Bliss closed in on Fultz on the final lap but would settle for second, while Tyler Siri scored a career-best third place finish in an event where he led the opening six circuits. John Juhl was a solid fourth with Donnie Lawson scoring a top-five finish despite brake problems.

The Wonderlings have dominated the late model division at Black Rock since 2006, but on Friday, for the first time Mike, the Patriarch, took his ride to Victory Lane.

The Scio-based pilot of the No. z1 joined his sons Mikey, Jeremy and Brady on the list of late model feature winners at BRS. He led from the drop of the green flag and never had much to worry about.

When asked in Victory Lane what the difference was tonight, Mike responded, “I started driving like my sons. They’re a little crazy.”

Adam DePuy made a brief bid for the lead after the races only caution on lap 14. A problem would knock out the No. 99 with four laps remaining. Mechanical issues would also eliminate top drivers such as Quinn Sutherland, Jeremy Wonderling and Mikey Wonderling.

Dave DuBois would take home the runner-up spot with Greg Galligan completing the top-3.

For the second race in a row, Nate Peckham stalked Chris Fisher around the racetrack in the street stock feature, but it was Fisher’s No. 37 crossing the line first.

Fisher stayed undefeated at BRS in 2011, winning his third heat in as many tries and his second feature in as many events. The Bluff Point driver took the lead from Nate Daggett on lap six but it was Peckham that would make him earn the checkered flags.

Fisher varied his lanes enough to keep the No. 90 at bay, but it also allowed Frank Guererri Jr. to close in on the top-two. He would have to settle for third though.

Mike Smith dominated the caution-free 20-lap IMCA Modified event as he hit his mark every corner and drive away from Eddie Sites and Chris Fleming to become the third different win in the division in as many weeks. The Arkport-based driver spoke in Victory Lane how well suited the speedway is for the division and looks forward to the growth of the class. Sites won a drag race back to the line over Fleming for second.

Brandon Morseman scored his third heat win in as many attempts in the 4-cylinder division and appeared to pick up the feature win he was looking for, however was disqualified after failing post-race inspection, handing the win over to Ray Speicher.

Morseman led from the start of the event until lap 12, when Scott Bradley chased him down and briefly stole the line at the lead. Seeing the line the competition was running, Morseman altered his strategy and took the lead back the next time they reached the start/finish line.

With two laps remaining, Bradley spun, setting up a sprint to the finish in which Ray Speicher would chase after Morseman but come up short at the line. Regardless, he was declared the winner.

Allison Teed and Lisa Cornish put on a spirited battle in the Bandit Feature at the beginning of the night, with Teed surviving Cornish’s late challenge to capture her first win in the division.

Cornish took the early lead, but Teed took over the top spot on lap four and seemed as though she would cruise to the wind. Cornish fought back though and made it a drag race to the finish line. Trista Teed made it an all-girl podium.

Next weekend, Black Rock will be alive for two nights with a Fab 5 Show on Friday followed by the special Spring Sprint Nationals on Saturday. The 360 sprints will headline the card with all three area sanctioning bodies (PST/URC/ESS) supporting the event. The BRP CanAm Late Models, Original Pizza Logs 600 Micro Sprint Tour and a Klein Steel Enduro will also be part of the program. For more information, visit

Black Rock Speedway Results: 4/29/2011-
Regular Season Night 2

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- BRADY FULTZ, Ray Bliss Jr., Tyler Siri, John Juhl, Donnie Lawson, Randy McCulloch, Rob Humphries, Rob Richmond Jr., Gary Hotelling, Chris Silvers, Joe Cook Jr., Fran Hilton, Brandon Butler, Steve Swarthout, Russell Morseman III, Colton Chappius, Serenity Sutherland, Trevor Sutherland, Brent Ayers, Sean Sommers, Chris Comstock, Matt Richmond, Eric Williams.

Lap Leader- Siri 1-6, T. Sutherland 7-12, Fultz 13-20.
Heat Winners- T. Sutherland, Morseman, Juhl.

Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- MIKE WONDERLING, Dave DuBois, Greg Galligan, J.J. Mazur, Brandon Smith, Bill Miller, Chris Peacock, Adam DePuy, Jared Hill, Quinn Sutherland, Jeremy Wonderling, Mikey Wonderling.

Lap Leaders- Mike Wonderling 1-20.
Heat Winners- Sutherland, Mike Wonderling.

Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- CHRIS FISHER, Nate Peckham, Frank Guererri Jr., Scott Sebring, Bob Buono, Nate Daggett, Lanson Albanese, Rich Sharpsteen I, Larry Fenton Jr., Jeremy Perkins, Jason Babbitt, Rich McIntyre, Rob Knapp, Brian Knowles, Chad Sindoni, Josh Parker, Les McCann (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Daggett 1-5, Fisher 6-20.
Heat Winners- Fisher, Daggett.

IMCA Modified Feature (20 Laps)- MIKE SMITH, Eddie Sites, Chris Fleming, Scott Bennett, Rich Karlnoski, Mike VanDyke, Mark Girffin (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Smith 1-20.
Heat Winner- Sites.

Signs Plus of Kanona/ Watkins Glen/Montour Falls/Ovid NAPA 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- RAY SPEICHER, Rick Horton, Dylan Cecce, Mike Ziarno, Scott Bradley, Ray Cornish, Val Stephens, Les Irwin, Adam Austin, Del Cummings, Billy Cagle, Brandon Morseman (DQ), Cody Moorehouse (DNS), Bobby Teed (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Morseman 1-12, Bradley 13, Morseman 14-20.
Heat Winners- Cecce, Morseman.

Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- Allison Teed, Lisa Cornish, Trista Teed, Lance Irwin, Brandon Mathews, Joey Rodbourn

Lap Leaders- Cornish 1-3, A. Teed 4-10.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Doug Gross Construction

Winners Circle Deli

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford