Apr 15, 2011 11:21 PM EDT

Brady Fultz Pounces on Late Race Opportunity to Claim Black Rock Opener


Rich Vleck, DUNDEE, NY (April 15, 2011)- Brady Fultz knew he had a good car coming into the opening race night of 2011, but he probably wasn’t expecting to take home the win when he sat in fourth with the laps winding down.

Fultz, a native of Dundee, ducked underneath defending champion Donnie Lawson on the final lap and then held off the No. 11 on an ensuing restart to equal his 2010 win total on the first night.


Fultz started in third, but fell back to fourth when Ray Bliss Jr. moved by.  Bliss kept moving forward and got a great run on lap 15 to drive by Ron Cartwright Jr. for the top spot.  The next time around, Donnie Lawson jumped into second and attempted to get by Bliss for the lead in lapped traffic.  The two made contact, which sent Bliss on an excursion through the infield.  Fultz would jump into second and close in on Lawson coming to the white flag.


Entering turn one on the final circuit, Cartwright, who was still in touch with the leaders, made one final bonsai attempt for the lead, which resulted in contact with Lawson in turn two.  Cartwright would make out the worse as his No. 2B spun sideways.  At the same time, Fultz had enough momentum built up to move by Lawson for the lead.


The caution flag had to be displayed for Cartwright, which set up a one lap sprint to the finish.  Despite slamming a berm on the bottom of the track, Fultz was able to get the pull off the bottom of turn two and take his Troyer No. 70 to Victory Lane.


Lawson would hang on for second while Rob Richmond Jr. ran up to third place.  Heat winner Randy McCulloch was fourth, with Bliss running back up to a top five finish.


Mikey Wonderling had a strong car all night long and took full advantage of the lead he inherited on lap 11 to hang on for the opening night win in the Late Model Division.


Wonderling, from Scio, took over the top spot when defending champion Jason Knowles broke the rear suspension while leading.  At the same time, second place John Waters cut down a tire forcing him pit side and enabling Wonderling to take the lead.


Wondering stretched out his advantage during a stretch of quick green flag runs but his win was in doubt on the final restart when Waters, who had rallied from the back, made it third wide along with Dave DuBois for the lead.  Wonderling was able to power through the corner in Jim and Sharon Schuyler’s No. 57J though and grab the Checkered Flag.  Waters crossed in second with Dubois salvaging a third place showing.


Chris Fisher held a comfortable lead over the field for most of the Street Stock feature and needed all of the cushion he had built up to hold off a late-charging Nate Peckham to kick off his title defense in style.


Fisher, from Bluff Point, won his heat even though he didn’t need to in order to inherit the pole.  He put his No. 37 up to the top of the track and powered around the top of the speedway without much issue.  In the meantime, Nate Peckham worked for a number of laps to get by Bob Buono for second and then tried to chase down the leader.  Peckham would run out of laps though and settle for second, while Buono would ride home in third.


In the nightcap, Mark Griffen used the top of the speedway to carry him to Victory Lane in the first weekly IMCA Modified Feature.  Griffen took back the top spot on lap eight when Mike Smith had a mechanical issue.  Rich Karlnoski made a quick bid for the lead but would have a problem as well and Griffen would stay smooth and steady for the win.  Following the Canton, PA driver across the line was opening day winner Josh Sawyer and Karlnoski.


Dylan Cecce jumped out of the Chevy Malibu street vehicle he drove in the 1-on-1 spectator races and made his racecar work perfectly around the speedway to dominate the 20-lap 4-cylinder feature.


Cecce, the former Bandit Champion from Bath, claimed his first win in the adult division after moving by Greg Turner for good on lap nine in a caution-free feature.  Ray Speicher would charge hard towards the end of the race but would run out of time to pick up his third opening night win in a row.  Turner would cross in third.


Zach Teed kicked off 2011 where he left off as the defending Bandit Champion dominated the youth 10-lap feature to kick off the night of racing.  His cousin Allison made some bids to close in for the lead but would settle for the runner-up position, a career best.  Joey Rodbourn would complete the podium.


After a Friday Night off for Easter, a Fab 5 Show will return to the speedway on April 29.  For more information, visit


Black Rock Speedway Results: 4/15/2011-

Rock Launcher Night


Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- BRADY FULTZ, Donnie Lawson, Rob Richmond Jr., Randy McCulloch, Ray Bliss Jr., Fran Hilton, Ron Cartwright Jr., John Juhl, Serenity Sutherland, Rob Humphries, Chris Comstock, Chris Silvers, Joe Cook Jr., Tom Juhl Jr., Brent Ayers, Gary Hotailing, Eric Williams, Steve Swarthout, Frank Kline, Matt Richmond, Trevor Sutherland, Colton Chappius, Loren Lincoln, Chad Ayers, Tyler Siri (DNS), Russell Morseman (DNS).


Lap Leader- Cartwright 1-14, Bliss 15, Lawson 16-19, Fultz 20.

Heat Winners- Lawson, Fultz, McCulloch.


Late Model Feature (20 Laps)-  MIKEY WONDERLING, John Waters, Dave DuBois, J.J. Mazur, Brandon Smith, Chris Peacock, Buck Payne, Dusty Waters, Jason Knowles, Brian Knowles, Quinn Sutherland, Glenn Whritenhour, Mike Wonderling, Bill Miller.


Lap Leaders- J. Knowles 1-10, Wondering 11-20.

Heat Winners- J. Waters, J. Knowles.



Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- CHRIS FISHER, Nate Peckham, Bob Buono, Frank Guererri Jr., Scott Sebring, Kevin Boynton, Nate Daggett, Rich McIntyre, Josh Parker, Erica Bell, Les McCann, Jared Hill, Chuck Winslow, Timothy Hettis, Larry Fenton Jr. (DNS), Joe Knapp (DNS).


Lap Leaders- Fisher 1-20.

Heat Winners- Fisher, Winslow.


IMCA Modified Feature (15 Laps)- Mark Griffen, Josh Sawyer, Rich Karlnoski, Mike VanDyke, Mike Smith, Bruce Tinsley, Robbie Compton.


Lap Leaders- Griffen 1-3, Smith 4-7, Griffen 8, Karlnoski 9, Griffen 10-15.

Heat Winner- Sawyer.


Signs Plus of Kanona/ Watkins Glen NAPA 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- DYLAN CECCE, Ray Speicher, Greg Turner, Scott Bradley, Rick Horton, Val Stephens, Del Cummings, Mike Ziarno, Brandon Morseman, Les Irwin, Taylor Jacobs, Brian Thompson, Adam Austin, Ray Cornish, Cody Moorehouse, Bobby Teed (DNS).


Lap Leaders- Turner 1-7, Cecce 8-20.

Heat Winners- Morseman, Turner.


Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- ZACH TEED, Allison Teed, Joey Rodbourn, Lisa Cornish, Trista Teed, Jordan Kio, Lance Irwin.


Lap Leaders- Z. Teed 1-10.


1 on 1 Spectator Race Winner: Jimmy Grant

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

NAPA of Addison, New York

Lanes Yamaha

Macs Dairy Bar

Rock Auto

Knapp & Schlappi