Jan 15, 2011 03:40 PM EDT

Black Rock Reflects on 2010, Looks Ahead to Busy 2011 Season at Awards Banquet

A winter storm and freezing temperatures could not deter hundreds of racing enthusiasts from attending the 2010 Black Rock Speedway Awards Banquet last Saturday at the Watkins Glen Community Center, where positive energy was flowing and more great news was on the way.

Nearly 75 individuals were presented with awards throughout the pleasant evening, including all of the youth competitors and any adult competitor that attended more than 60% of the point races in 2010. In addition, 20 special awards were distributed for exemplary efforts in the past years.

Among the prestigious awards, Bob Teed was honored as the Dutch Hoag Award for Excellence recipient. The racing legend was also on stage to present Kim Jennejohn as the Doris Hoag Leading Lady. Each recipient has served the sport of racing in a multitude of ways throughout the years.

Black Rock Webmaster Mark Sincock was honored as the Jack Christensen Media Award Winner, while track preparation handyman Robbie Conklin received the Charles Hill Memorial Award. Track Welder Dave Cleveland received the Service Award.

Each of Black Rockís weekly divisions were also recognized, with Donnie Lawson taking home the Hoselton Automall Sportsman Championship for the second consecutive season. Jason Knowles not only won his first feature at Black Rock this season, he also claimed the Freedom Village USA Late Model Title.

Chris Fisher notched his second Labatt Blue Street Stock Championship, like Terry Povoski, who dominated the Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Division to claim that title.

Zach Teedís consistence performance earned him the Home Necessities Bandits Title while Joey Rodbourn was the Youth Enduro Champion. Both youngsters picked up trophies that are substantially taller than they are.

Mark Sincock was also recognized at the Adult Enduro Series Championship. $10,000-to-win Big One Winner Ronnie Hill was also honored in this division, as he received a souvenir check for that accomplishment by Joe Bailey of Klein Steel, who announced Saturday that Klein Steel will be the division sponsor for 2011.

Track Promoter Dean Hoag announced at the beginning of the night that the IMCA Modifieds will be added to the weekly Friday card in 2011. This division will embark on this weekly venture on Saturday, April 9, when the racing season kicks off.

The annual Arnot Mall Car Show returns April 1 and 2 in Horseheads, NY to show off all of the great-looking vehicles. The following week, they put those beauties into action with an open practice on Friday, April 8. On Saturday afternoon, a small block/ Big Block Shootout will headline a packed card which also includes crate sportsman, street stocks, late models, the IMCA Empire Tour and a 4-cylinder enduro.

For more information, visit

2010 Black Rock Speedway Awards Banquet
January 8, 2011
Watkins Glen Community Center, Watkins Glen, NY

Dutch Hoag Award for Excellence- Bob Teed
Doris Hoag Leading Lady- Kim Jennejohn
Jack Christensen Media Award- Mark Sincock
Charles Hill Memorial Award- Robbie Conklin
Service Award- Dave Cleveland

Hoselton Automall Sportsman Division
Donnie Lawson
Rob Richmond Jr
Brady Fultz
Fran Hilton
Loren Lincoln
Randy McCulloch- Most Improved
Katelyn Kane- Best Appearing Car
John Juhl- Sportsmanship
Ron Cartwright Jr
Serenity Sutherland
Ray Bliss
Trevor Sutherland
Steven Swarthout- Top Rookie
Chris Comstock
Damon Walker
Joseph Cook
Matt Richmond
Brent Ayers
Jeff Frasier
Bryan Faulkner
Rob Parker

Freedom Village USA Late Model Division
Jason Knowles
J. J. Mazur- Sportsmanship
Quinn Sutherland- Most Improved, Best Appearing Car
Jeremy Wonderling
Mikey Wonderling
Dave DuBois
Chris Peacock
Rich Karlnoski
Larry Knowles
Jared Hill- Top Rookie

Labatt Blue Street Stock Division
Chris Fisher
Bob Buono
Frank Guererri Jr
Nathan Daggett- Best Appearing Car
Nate Peckham- Hard Luck
Jim McAfee
Carl Cleveland- Sportsmanship
Scott Sebring- Most Improved
Jared Hill
Andy Fisk
Larry Fenton Jr
Rich McIntyre
Jeremy Perkins
Mike Jackson
Chris Force
Les McCann- Top Rookie

Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Division
Terry Povoski
Raymond Speicher
Rich Sharpsteen II
Chad Ayers- Best Appearing Car
Scott Bradley- Most Improved
Del Cummings
Russ Wassner
Val Stephens
Erica Bell
Mike Ziarno- Top Rookie
Brian Thompson
Kailey Wassner
Rob Wilcox- Sportsmanship

Home Necessities Bandit Division
Zach Teed- Sportsmanship
Noah Herington
Cody Clemens- Most Improved
Allison Teed- Sportsmanship
Lisa Cornish- Best Appearing Car
Jordan Siri
Trista Teed

Youth Enduro Division
Joey Rodbourn
Justin Eldridge
Dayton Cote
Lucas Gilson
Bradley Baker
Pat Kerrick
Emalee Brockman

FWD Enduro Division
Mark Sincock
Scott Rodbourn
Jeremy Trank

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford