Aug 13, 2010 11:13 PM EDT

Donnie Lawson Declared Sportsman Winner and Champion at Black Rock

It wasn’t the most ordinary race for Donnie Lawson, but somehow he found his way in Black Rock Victory Lane for the sixth time this season and with enough points to lock up the track championship.

Lawson, of Woodhull, was awarded as the winner of the Hoselton Automall Sportsman feature after Ron Cartwright Jr. was black flagged for aggressive driving in the closing laps.

Rookie Tyler Siri had dominated much of the 20-lap event, as he was ahead by over four seconds in just his fourth sportsman race, but the front end broke on his No. 28 on lap 16 and opened up the race to the rest of the pack.

Cartwright and Lawson had been battling hard for second up until lap 16, with Cartwright having an answer for every one of Lawson’s bids for the runner-up spot. When Siri fell out, it would set up a four lap shootout for the win.

On the restart, Lawson put his No. 11 TEO to the top but saw Cartwright begin to drive up the track and backed out. He would attempt the maneuver again, but this time Cartwright would use his car to force Lawson back, which would force the officials to penalize the driver of the No. 2B.

“I wanted to race him hard and I had a good run on the outside, but he started pushing up and I saw dollar signs,” admitted Lawson. “We work real hard on these cars and I would have been happy with a second tonight if that’s how he was going to race me. It’s a shame because he didn’t need to race like that to win. He had a good car tonight.”

By winning, Lawson padded his point lead enough to ensure that he would capture his second consecutive track championship. It was a relief for the Woodhull Resident.

“I hate point racing because you get nervous and you don’t want to think about it, but then again I wouldn’t want anyone else to win the championship,” noted Lawson. “This division has been so tough this season and I’m just fortunate to have the runs we’ve had.”

The race was slow to get going as the third caution of the event occurred with three laps completed when 10 cars piled up in turn two, causing a red flag. The race would run green the rest of the way with the exception of the yellow Siri’s broken front end.

Brady Fultz was part of the lap 3 wreck but would rally and come home in second after inching ahead of Katelyn Kane at the line, who would score her career best at BRS in third. Chris Comstock and Fran Hilton would round out the readjusted top-five as Cartwright was slated to the final spot on the lead leap in eighth.

Mikey Wonderling captured his second Insinger/Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Feature win of the season in a 20-lap event that featured only one caution period.

Wonderling, of Scio, led all 20 laps in Jim and Sharon Schuyler’s No. 57J, rim-riding around the track in front of last week’s winner Jeff Chesebro and Mikey’s younger brother Jeremy.

The only stoppage of the race occurred on lap 14 when Chesebro’s No. 97 began to slow after showing smoke while in second. On the restart, Jeremy Wonderling began to press hard to pass his older brother, but it was to no avail and Mikey would hang on for the win.

“I saw the 97 on the board and knew he would be strong,” recalled Wonderling in Victory Lane. “Then I saw the 3 up there on the yellow and knew it wasn’t going to get any easier.”

Behind the Wonderling Brothers was Dave DuBois in third, the top-five would by Quinn Sutherland and point leader Jason Knowles, who was using his Father Larry’s No. 4 after problems to his primary ride in his heat race.

Bob Buono picked up the American Racer Tire Street Stock Feature win, his fourth of the season, but it was far from easy for him in the No. 64.

Buono inherited the lead from Nate Daggett at the line to complete lap five, but Daggett would drive back around him on the top and it appeared the outside lane was dominant. Buono would hold steady on the inside though and eventually that line began to become effective again.

The No. 64 car would get back in front on lap 17 after a late-race restart and then would have to hold back three hard-chargers to capture his first win in two months.

Daggett would hang on for second with Frank Guererri Jr. finishing third after challenging the top two for the lead for much of the race. Point leader Chris Fisher was fourth with Larry Fenton, Buono’s teammate, rounding out the top-five.

Terry Povoski used freshly-painted orange wheels to rebound from his broken transmission of a week ago to score his 10th feature win of the season in the Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder class.

Povoski used his standard approach of steadily picking his way through the pack and slid underneath Rich Sharpsteen II on lap 15 to grab the lead and withstand charges by Scott Bradley.

Bradley would again finish in second, with Ray Speicher rebounding from being sent to the back by coming back to finish third. Chad Ayers and Russ Wassner completed the top-five.

Cody Clemens made a fine move around the outside of Lisa Cornish on lap four to take away the lead in the Home Necessities Bandits feature and pull away from there for his third win of the season.

Noah Herington padded his point lead in the division as he ran up to second, ahead of Jordan Siri and Zach Teed, who is second in the standings.

Next Friday Night, Home Necessities presents Free Admission night in the grandstands. All are welcomed at no cost, but no outside food or drink is permitted. For more information, visit

Black Rock Speedway Results: 8/13/2010-
Big Rig Night

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- DONNIE LAWSON, Brady Fultz, Katelyn Kane, Chris Comstock, Fran Hilton, Rob Richmond Jr., Steve Swarthout, Ron Cartwright Jr., John Juhl, Tyler Siri, Serenity Sutherland, Damon Walker, Ray Bliss Jr., Randy McCulloch, Trevor Sutherland, Brent Ayers, Nick Guererri, Greg Crooker, Kreg Crooker, Loren Lincoln, Bryan Faulkner, Joe Cook Jr.

Lap Leader- Swarthout 1-2, Siri 3-16, Cartwright 17-19, Lawson 20.
Heat Winners- Kane, Siri, Cartwright.

Insinger/Sunoco Fuels Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- MIKEY WONDERLING, Jeremy Wonderling, Dave DuBois, Quinn Sutherland, Jason Knowles, J.J. Mazur, Jim Johnson, Bob Babbitt, Chris Peacock, Jeff Chesebro, Mike Wonderling Sr., Larry Knowles (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Mikey Wonderling 1-20.
Heat Winners- J. Wonderling, Mikey Wonderling.

American Racer Tire Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- BOB BUONO, Nate Daggett, Frank Guererri Jr., Chris Fisher, Larry Fenton Jr., Carl Cleveland, George Parker, Scott Sebring, Jeremy Perkins, Rich McIntyre, Chris Force, Jim McAfee, Nate Peckham, Andy Fisk, Jason White, Jared Hill, Dan Searls, John Rekczis.

Lap Leaders- Force 1, Daggett 2-4, Buono 5, Daggett 6-16, Buono 17-20.
Heat Winners- Daggett, McAfee, Fenton.

Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- TERRY POVOSKI, Scott Bradley, Ray Speicher, Chad Ayers, Russ Wassner, Del Cummings, Bobby Teed, Mike Ziarno, Erica Bell, Ryan Nichols, Rob Wilcox, Brian Thompson, Rich Sharpsteen II, Kailey Wassner, Val Stephens, Sarah Johnson.

Lap Leaders- Sharpsteen 1-13, Povoski 14-20.
Heat Winners- Speicher, Bradley.

Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- CODY CLEMENS, Noah Herington, Jordan Siri, Zach Teed, Allison Teed, Joey Rodbourn, Lisa Cornish.

Lap Leaders- Cornish 1-3, Clemens 4-10.

1-on-1 Spectator Finals:
Car Division- Rich Sharpsteen II over Bill Weller Jr.
Pickup Truck Division- Chris Hall over Martin Foster.
Car vs. Pickup Truck Showdown- Rich Sharpsteen II over Chris Hall.
Big Rig Truck Division- Scott Dillion over Chad Jensen.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford