Jul 23, 2010 10:48 PM EDT

Loren Lincoln and J.J. Mazur Break Through at Black Rock

Loren Lincoln always finds his way to the front of the pack in Hoselton Auto Mall Competition, and his persistence paid off with a bit of good luck on Friday Night for his first win at BRS since 2008.

Lincoln, from South Bristol, did not take command of the 30-car field until the final lap, when leader Ray Bliss Jr. developed a flat right rear tire during a caution flag. In the one-lap shootout, Lincoln’s No. 2L pulled away and made no question about it.

“It’s about time,” said Lincoln. “The only chance I thought I had for the lead was on the restarts but I’m grateful to make it work out tonight.”

The event started slow, with crashes on the first and third laps hindering the flow. When the field was set to restart on lap four, early leader Serenity Sutherland had to pull off the track when her No. 37 was overheating.

Bliss would inherit the lead and appeared to have the race in command, as he held a safe distance in front of the pack and looked like he had his second win of the season in the bag as he took the white flag; before he could get back around to the checkered though the caution waved, at which point the air began to leak out of the right rear tire of the No. 12.

“Zeke the Streak” would be forced to go pit side, allowing Lincoln to capture the win. Rob Richmond would charge up to cross for second. Point leader Donnie Lawson salvaged a podium finish in third. Randy McCulloch and Nick Guererri would complete the top-five.

A major crash occurred on the third lap when Steve Swarthout and Josh Butler crashed into the backstretch wall together. The two would block the track and collect Rob Humphreys and Jeff Frasier with major damage to their machines. All drivers were able to walk away under their own power.

J.J. Mazur finally made his weekly long trips to Dundee from Batavia pay off as he found the power in his No. 13jr and dominated for his first win of the season in the Insinger/ Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Divison.

Mazur won both his heat and feature in convincing fashion in a feature race that had just two caution periods. Jeremy Wonderling and Mikey Wonderling both had stints in second place but had nothing for the second generation driver.

“We’ve been working way too hard. We have just been having bad luck all year,” noted Mazur in Victory Lane. “I pushed up a couple of times but the car was great, it was really good.”

Mikey Wonderling would have to take his No. 57J pitside under the lap 13 caution period when a flat right front tire was discovered. His brother Jeremy would do his best to reel in Mazur, but would settle for second.

Quinn Sutherland held off Jason Knowles for third with Greg Galligan completing the top-five.

Defending American Racer Tire Street Stock Champion Frank Guererri Jr. broke out of his 2010 funk as he blasted around the outside of Scott Sebring on lap 16 amongst lapped traffic and pulled away for his first feature win of the year.

In what was a terrific race to watch, Guererri, of Ovid, had to be patient early in the event as he was part of a seven car scramble for the top spots. He would finally start making his charge to the front after a lap seven restart when point leader Chris Fisher cut down the left rear tire. Guererri was working the top of the track better than anyone else and with leader Sebring running the inside; he had the open groove to run to the lead.

Guererri made a move to the outside for the lead off of turn four and stayed in the gas as the two approached the lapped car of Chris Fisher. Once taking the lead, the No. 113jr had smooth sailing the rest of the way.

Scott Sebring would hold off Bob Buono for a career-best second. Nate Daggett and Nate Peckham completed the top-five.

A large wreck took place on the opening circuit when Jeremy Perkins was turned by Ralph Champion Jr. and collected Jared Hill and Jim McAfee.

Ray Speicher captured not only the Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Feature, but collected the bounty that went along with it for dethroning Terry Povoski.

Speicher, of Beaver Dams, took the lead on a lap six restart from Chad Ayers and checked out on the field in his No. 14 to pick up his third win of the year and first since Signs Plus of Kanona put up the bonus cash.

Povoski tried all he could to reel in the No. 14, but came up about two seconds short, as Speicher was able to win one for his 3-year-old.

Rich Sharpsteen II, Scott Bradley and Brian Grant completed the top-five.

Zach Teed put on a clinic early in the night as he scored his third Home Necessities Bandits event. Teed got by point leader Noah Herington on the second circuit and pulled away to a comfortable win.

As Teed secured the win, Herington fought hard to hold off Cody Clemens for the runner-up spot, and in the process retain his spot atop the point standings.

For more information, visit

Black Rock Speedway Results: 7/23/2010-
Corning Chamber of Commerce Night

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- LOREN LINCOLN, Rob Richmond Jr., Donnie Lawson, Randy McCulloch, Nick Guererri, Fran Hilton, Casey Pavlick, Joe Cook Jr., Greg Crooker, Chris Comstock, Trevor Sutherland, Wesley Campbell, Ray Bliss Jr., A.J. Costley, Katelyn Kane, Nate DeLong, Matt Richmond, Brady Fultz, John Juhl, Brandon Butler, Tyler Siri, Damon Walker, Serenity Sutherland, Josh Butler, Steve Swarthout, Rob Humphreys, Jeff Frasier, Brent Ayers, Ron Cartwright Jr. (DNS), Rob Parker (DNS).

Lap Leader- S. Sutherland 1-3, Bliss 4-19, Lincoln 20.
Heat Winners- S. Sutherland, Lawson, Lincoln.

Insinger/Sunoco Fuels Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- J.J. Mazur, Jeremy Wonderling, Quinn Sutherland, Jason Knowles, Greg Galligan, Larry Knowles, Brian Knowles, Josh Smith, Mike Wonderling, Dan Cobb, Chris Peacock, Chris Comstock, Steve Kent, Mikey Wonderling.

Lap Leaders- Mazur 1-20.
Heat Winners- J. Wonderling, Mazur.

American Racer Tire Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- FRANK GUERERRI JR., Scott Sebring, Bob Buono, Nate Daggett, Nate Peckham, Jim McAfee, Rich McIntyre, Larry Fenton Jr., Carl Cleveland, Chuck Winslow, Les McCann, Chris Force, Chris Fisher, Jared Hill, Mike Jackson, Brad Rathbun, Todd Hayward, John Rekczis, Jeremy Perkins, Ralph Champion Jr., Rob Parker (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Sebring 1-14, Guererri 15-20.
Heat Winners- Jackson, Guererri, Peckham.

Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- RAY SPEICHER, Terry Povoski, Rich Sharpsteen II, Scott Bradley, Brian Grant, Chad Ayers, Del Cummings, Erica Bell, Val Stephens, Russ Wassner, Brian Thompson, Bobby teed, Mike Ziarno, Kailey Wassner, Brandon Smith.

Lap Leaders- C. Ayers 1-5, Speicher 6-20.
Heat Winners- Bradley, Speicher.

Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- ZACH TEED, Noah Herington, Cody Clemens, Allison Teed, Lisa Cornish, Trista Teed (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Herington 1, Teed 2-10.

1-on-1 Spectator Cars Winner- Shawn Brace
1-on-1 Spectator Trucks Winner- Brandon Palmisano

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford