Jul 31, 2009 11:47 PM EDT

Todd Henderson and Dale Welty Back to Victory Lane at Black Rock

After rain cleared out of the Dundee area by early afternoon, a fast and smooth race surface was left for nearly 100 competitors to battle on the final Friday of July.

Todd Henderson took the lead on the second lap as Dave Yehl and Craig Gardner were getting together and never looked back as he kept the stout Brady Fultz and Donnie Lawson at bay to score his second win of the year.

“This place has been evading me for quite a while,” declared Henderson. “We’ve been struggling a little, just haven’t been hitting the marks like we were the last couple of years. This change in the track really has thrown me off.”

Henderson, the defending BRS Champion from Canandaigua caught a well-timed caution on lap eight just as he was entering lapped traffic. On the double-file restart he drove away from last week’s winner Brady Fultz and then held a steady two-second advantage over the No. 70 to get back to Victory Lane.

With two laps left to go, Henderson navigated his Autogenesis No. 18H through a pair of lapped cars, giving him just enough of a buffer zone to make lapped traffic a non-factor.

Fultz would hold on to second with Lawson a close third. Loren Lincoln was fourth with Randy McCulloch rounding out the top-five despite having a damaged racecar.

Dale Welty had a number of challengers that ran the bottom of the track in the Late Model Division, but the veteran stayed strong on the top and led all 20 laps for his third win of the year.

Welty closed in on the point lead with his steady run in the Steve Kent Owned No. 92x. He really had to work the very pronounced cushion as it was a fast place to be and the Siberian Tiger was just loose enough to make it work.

Dave DuBois was the early challenger for the lead but would spin his No. 012 while running in third when he missed the cushion on lap eight. When he went to the back it would open up the line for other competitors.

John Waters ran right up to second in his No. 11 but in the closing laps would have to deal with last week’s winner Bruce Miller more from behind than he could with challenging for the lead. Waters and Miller would have to settle for second and third, respectively.

Rounding out the top-five were Mikey Wonderling and Chris Peacock.

Frank Guererri Jr. had his worst run of the year last week but rebounded in style this Friday as he took the lead on lap 12 from a strong Jared Hill No. 93 and then had to hold off last week’s winner Nate Peckham for his sixth win of the season.

The Ovid driver made a major statement in the point lead as he admitted in Victory Lane that he is point-racing heading into the stretch run.

Peckham was solid for second with Jason White rebounding for third. Josh Parker and Rob Parker rounded out the top-five. Defending Champion Chris Fisher had a flat tire and would fall three laps down to the pack.

Terry Povoski made the bottom work in the 4-Cylinder division work the best late in the race and made a pass with four laps to go on Rookie Dave Matwiejow to pick up his seventh win of the year.

Povoski, of Bradford, made a run on a lap 15 restart to the inside of Matwiejow but the lap was called back for a caution back in the pack. On the restart, Povoski got back to the inside and waiting for Matwiejow to push up in the middle of the corner. Even though the No. 24 would fight back on multiple occasions, Povoski would pad his point lead with the win.

Behind Povoski and Matwiejow were Del Cummings, Phil Yaw and Brett Crawford to complete the top-five.

Ethan Preston took the lead on lap two of the 4-cylinder modified feature and cruised to the win in his No. 53x. The battle was fierce early on as Chad Ayers took the lead for a brief moment on the second lap but before a lap was complete, Preston was in the lead. Ayers was second with Gerry Bayer completing the top-three.

Dylan Cecce made it a dozen wins on the season with the bandits as he took the lead on lap two and ran away for the victory. As Cecce stretched out his advantage, Josh Wallenbeck and Joshua DuBois were able to score second and third, respectively.

The Law Enforcement of the area was in full force on Friday Night as 10 enduros were run. After the first nine events had been completed, the winner from each race went to a final showdown, with 4-cylinder regular Jason Barrett scoring the win.

Next week, as the stars of the stock car world roll in to the Finger Lakes, the action will really heat up at Black Rock with the Lucas Oil ASCS Patriots running the $4,000-to-Win Insinger NY Nationals, the BRP CanAm Late Model Series, 600cc MicroSprints, a $1,000-to-win Enduro plus all of the regular divisions running feature. For more information, visit

Black Rock Speedway Results: 7/31/2009-
Pepsi presents Richard Ganung Memorial and Law Enforcement Night for Breast Cancer Research

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- TODD HENDERSON, Brady Fultz, Donnie Lawson, Loren Lincoln, Randy McCulloch, Marcus Dinkins, Greg Cool, Justin Henderson, Nick Guererri, Craig Gardner, Fran Hilton, Dave Yehl, Chuck Winslow, Brandon Butler, Brett Buono, Brad Rathbun, Mark Butler, Nate Delong, Rick Willsey.

Lap Leader- Yehl 1, Henderson 2-20.
Heat Winners- Hilton, Gardner, Lawson.

Freedom Village USA Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- DALE WELTY, John Waters, Bruce Miller, Mikey Wonderling, Chris Peacock, Quinn Sutherland, Dave DuBois, Mike Wonderling, Nate Daggett, Craig Cobb, Brett Buono, Brandon Smith.

Lap Leaders- Welty 1-20.
Heat Winners- Miller, Welty.

Labatt Blue Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- FRANK GUERERRI JR., Nate Peckham, Jason White, Josh Parker, Rob Parker, Scott Sebring, Larry Fenton Jr., George Parker, Jim McAfee, Cory McConnell, Carl Cleveland, Chris Fisher, Jared Hill, Jeremy Perkins, Rich McIntyre, Kevin Morrison.

Lap Leaders- Hill 1-11, Guererri 12-20.
Heat Winners- McAfee, Guererri, Hill.

Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- TERRY POVOSKI, Dave Matwiejow, Del Cummings, Phil Yaw, Brett Crawford, Brad Rathbun, Jack Ayers, Chad Ayers, Erica Bell, Chad Winslow, Russ Wassner, Rich Sharpsteen II, Brian Thompson, Chris Ayers, Brent Ayers, Jason Barrett, Scott Bradley, Cody Moorehouse, C.J. Winslow, Kailey Wassner, Justin Gardiner, Ray Speicher.

Lap Leaders- Cummings 1-5, Matwiejow 6-16, T. Povoski 17-20.
Heat Winners- Sharpsteen, Cummings, Yaw.

Ladies 4-Cylinder Feature (10 Laps)- ERICA BELL, Paula Wallenbeck, Jamie Schuyler, Val Stephens, Amanda Schultsick, Kailey Wassner, Sarah Potter.

Lap Leaders- Bell 1-10.

4-Cylinder Modified (10 Laps)- ETHAN PRESTON, Chad Ayers, Gerry Bayer, Jeff Hand, Tom Bayer, Bruce Detrow (DNS).

Lap Leaders- T. Bayer 1, Preston 2-10.
Heat Winner- Preston.

Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- DYALN CECEE, Josh Wallenbeck, Joshua DuBois, Zach Teed, Noah Herrington, Cody Clemens, Val Stephens, Lisa Cornish.

Lap Leaders- Wallenbeck 1, Cecce 2-10.

Law Enforcement Enduro Finale Winner- Jason Barrett.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Area Auto Racing News