Jul 25, 2009 01:19 PM EDT

Brady Fultz Break Through at Black Rock for First Win of 2009

All year long, Brady Fultz had found himself chasing Donnie Lawson on Friday Night’s at his hometown track. Not only was Lawson driving well, but also the No. 11 was Fultz’s old car, making it tougher to swallow. On Friday though, not only did Fultz pick up the win, he had to get back around Lawson to do it.

Fultz, from Dundee, moved back underneath Lawson with three laps left to go to retake the lead and hang on for the win.

“It took a long time to get going but it is worth it,” said an elated Fultz in Victory Lane.

Despite starting in third, the Suzuki No. 70 Troyer jumped into the lead on the opening circuit and began to make the inside line work. Lawson, along with defending Champion Todd Henderson, were on the move though. They carved their way through the pack and by lap five were pressure Fultz for the lead.

Lawson kept pounding the cushion on the top of the track, eventually stealing the lead away on lap seven. In so many cases this season, it would mean the Woodhull resident would ride off in to the night, but on this night the bottom would come back in.

Fultz, the 2007 Champion, stayed steady on the inside and with a number of cautions over the course of the 20-lap feature, he knew exactly what he needed to do to make a run. As the cushion wore off, Fultz got in to the lead, with Henderson doing the same as well for second.

Lawson would hang on to third with Loren Lincoln and Chuck Winslow completing a solid top-five.

Bruce Miller made a rare appearance at BRS Friday pay off with a win in the Late Model Feature. The Wellsville Wheelman drew the pole for both the heat and the feature, making his trip to Victory Lane easy, but his No. 80 was probably capable of winning from deeper in the pack. His car was solid anywhere on the track and was easily the class of the field on the night.

J.J. Mazur was solid all night as well as he won his heat and then came up from his sixth starting spot to put together a runner-up finish. Dale Welty had another solid point night, rebounding from early issues in the feature to rebound for third. Mikey Wonderling would hold off his dad, Mike Sr. in rounding out the top-five.

Former Street Stock Champion Nate Peckham was again solid on Friday night scoring the win in his No. 90. Rob Parker had jumped out in front early on but Peckham, who started in 10th, was on a mission from the drop of the green flag.

On the opening lap, Peckham made a thrilling move up to fourth when others began to slow up. It was clear the Seneca Falls driver was strong, and he proved it when he took the lead on lap seven.

Defending Champion Chris Fisher gave Peckham a solid effort, putting a fender underneath the leader in the waning laps, but was not able to get his No. 37 alongside Peckham and would have to settle for second.

Locals Jason White and Carl Cleveland were third and fourth, respectively, while Parker would hang on for a top-five. Current point leader Frank Guerrerri Jr. won his heat but struggled in the feature and would place 12th.

Phil Yaw seemed like he finally put it all together on in the 4-cylinder as he picked up his first win of the year, even though he stated it a little bit differently.

“This was the first night where everything went halfway decent,” understated Yaw.

The Watkins Glen driver led from the drop of the green flag but would begin to feel the challenge of Rich Sharpsteen II around the halfway point. Sharpsteen pulled a textbook slidejob coming out of turn four, but would slide up high and allow Yaw to scoot back by. When Sharpsteen slid up to the cushion, he punctured a hole in his tire and would be relegated pitside. From that point on Yaw would not be touched.

Jim Radney said he could put his No. 95 anywhere in the micro sprint feature, enabling him to pick up the win in convincing style. Radney got around Timex Morgan on the eighth lap and never looked back as he would lap up to third.

Paula Wallenbeck scored the Ladies 4-Cylinder Win, as she got back around Erica Bell on lap six to win the 10-lap event. The field continues to grow for this class, but Wallenbeck continues to be strongest.

Early in the night, Dylan Cecce picked up yet another Bandit win, but this may have been his toughest of the year to get. Josh Wallenbeck took the lead on the second lap and had kept Cecce at bay from lap three, but coming off turn two on the final lap, Cecce found bit on the bottom and got a run to take the lead and get the win.

Wallenbeck would fade to third, as Zach Curren would move by for second. Early leader Zach Teed was fourth with Noah Herrington rounding out the top-five.

A major fireworks display would conclude the night of action. All enjoyed it as they lit up the sky. Action will resume next Friday with a Law Enforcement Endro, 4-cylinder mods and the super 6 regular divisions. For more information, visit

Black Rock Speedway Results: 7/24/2009-
$10,000 Fireworks Night

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- BRADY FULTZ, Todd Henderson, Donnie Lawson, Loren Lincoln, Marcus Dinkins, Chuck Winslow, Randy McCulloch, Greg Cool, Nate DeLong, Fran Hilton, Craig Gardner, Dave Yehl, Chris Mangerelli, Josh Butler, Rick Willsey, Damon Walker, Kreg Crooker, Greg Crooker, Bill McKelvey, Brandon Butler (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Fultz 1-6, Lawson 7-17, Fultz 18-20.
Heat Winners- Henderson, Fultz, Gardner.

Freedom Village USA Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- BRUCE MILLER, J.J. Mazur, Dale Welty, Mikey Wonderling, Mike Wonderling, Chris Peacock, Dave DuBois, Bob Buono, Brandon Smith, Craig Cobb, Rich Karlnoski, Bob Babbitt, Jeremy Wonderling, Nate Daggett (DNS), John Waters (DNS).

Lap Leader- Miller 1-20.
Heat Winners- Miller, Mazur.

Labatt Blue Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- NATE PECKHAM, Chris Fisher, Jason White, Carl Cleveland, Rob Parker, Mike Jackson, Kevin Morrison, Jim McAfee, Josh Parker, Rich McIntyre, Jayme Gilbert, Frank Guererri Jr., George Parker, Larry Fenton Jr., Jarod Brown, Jared Hill, Jeremy Perkins, Tim Sebring, Christian Thompson, Rich Bixby Jr., Bruce Kinner (DNS), Gene Parker (DNS).

Lap Leaders- R. Parker 1-6, Peckham 7-20.
Heat Winners- McAfee, Guererri, Hill.

Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- PHIL YAW, Brad Rathbun, Gregg Turner, Jack Ayers, Terry Povoski, Scott Bradley, Dave Matwiejow, Ray Speicher, C.J. Winslow, Brent Ayers, Chad Ayers, Chris Ayers, Brian Thompson, Doug Van DeKamp, Erica Bell, Rich Sharpsteen II, Chad Winslow, Russ Wassner, Cody Moorehouse, Jason Barrett, Del Cummings, Pat Toupin, Joe Povoski (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Yaw 1-20.
Heat Winners- Yaw, T. Povoski, Sharpsteen.

Micro Sprint Feature (20 Laps)- JIM RADNEY, Timex Morgan, John Smith, Amy Scott, Shannon Doran, Kirsten Dombroski, Ethan Morgan, Zack Morgan.

Lap Leader- T. Morgan 1-7, Radney 8-20.
Heat Winner- Radney.

Ladies 4-Cylinder Feature (10 Laps)- PAULA WALLENBECK, Erica Bell, Sarah Johnson, Val Stephens, Sarah Potter, Amanda Schultsick, Lisa Cornish, Jamie Schuyler.

Lap Leaders- Wallenbeck 1-4, Bell 5, Wallenbeck 6-10.

Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- DYLAN CECCE, Zack Curren, Josh Wallenbeck, Zach Teed, Noah Herrington, Dayton Cote, David DuBois, Val Stephens, Lisa Cornish, Sarah Johnson, Evan Stiles, Cody Clemens.

Lap Leaders- Teed 1, Wallenbeck 2-9, Cecce 10.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Doug Gross Construction

Winners Circle Deli

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford