May 22, 2009 10:51 PM EDT

Todd Henderson Scores Big Win at Black Rock

Todd Henderson knows what it’s like to be dominant in the sportsman division at Black Rock, but this year he was getting frustrated that the dominator of the division was not him. On Friday he dethroned the class standard for 2009 and put his name in the win column.

Henderson, of Canandaigua, made a pass on the outside of Craig Gardner on the final restart of the event on lap 7. Even though Lawson would close in at the end, the No. 18H was strong enough for the victory.

“It’s been a while, I didn’t think it would take this long,” noted Henderson. “I never even lifted, I just ran wide open.”

Henderson started in sixth and quickly moved up to second by the second lap. He then stalked Garnder until a caution would give him a chance to take the lead.

Lawson would score a solid second-place run with Gardner placing in third. Loren Lincoln and Brady Fultz would battle tooth-and-nail for fourth for most of the event with Lincoln holding Fultz off.

Four Wonderling’s entered the pits on Friday Night, only one, Brady, would finish the Late Model Feature, and he would do it in style winning the race.

Brady, of Scio, became the third of the brothers to win at Black Rock Speedway. Brady was the beneficiary of bad luck suffered by his brother Mikey, who broke in the No. 57J while leading with two laps to go.

Mikey and Brady were side-by-side for three laps after the only caution of the event on lap 15 when Dave DuBois and Rich Karlnoski came together while battling for second. Mikey looked like he could hold him off but when he broke he coasted to the end of the event.

Behind Wonderling’s z11 was Brandon Smith in second, with Dave DuBois charging back up to third. Rounding out the top-five were Bob Buono and Nate Daggett.

Jared Hill swept the night winning his heat and feature to pick up his first win of the season in the street stocks. Hill dominated the 20-lap event while some great battling was going on behind them.

Hill, from Dundee, took the lead on the second lap and ran the bottom successfully in his No. 93 to win for the first time since last July.

Behind Hill was a wild scramble for second between the three drivers to already score wins this season. Carl Cleveland, last week’s winner, was able to hold off Frank Guererri Jr. and Chris Fisher for second by running the top of the track. Cleveland was in jeopardy of losing the runner-up spot on numerous occasions but held steady. Guererri passed Fisher for third on the final lap while Josh Parker completed the top-five.

Rich Sharpsteen II scored the popular win in the 4-cylinder division, taking the lead on lap eight and then moving back around Terry Povoski on lap 17 after he tried to steal the win away.

Sharpsteen, a Dundee Resident, had a three-wide battle for the top spot early on with Phil Yaw and Chad Ayers, and then saw the Povoski Brothers, Terry and Joe, get to the inside of him in the closing laps, but the “Flyin’ X” was not to be denied.

Behind Sharpsteen were Terry and Joe Povoski, Chad Ayers and Ray Speicher to complete the top-five.

Dylan Cecce, scored his fourth win in five weeks in the bandit feature, but he had a lot of work to do to get to Victory Lane. Cecce moved around Josh Wallenbeck coming to the white flag to pad his point lead.

Erica Bell ended the night on a positive note with a win in a wild Ladies 4-Cylinder event. Bell took the lead coming to the white flag when Nicole Knickerbocker got sideways in turn four.

Ethan Preston dominated the 4-cylinder modified event, scoring the heat win and leading all 8 laps of the feature.

Next week is FREE admission into the grandstands at Black Rock. For more information, visit

Black Rock Speedway Results: 5/22/2009-
WFLR Night

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- TODD HENDERSON, Donnie Lawson, Craig Gardner, Loren Lincoln, Brady Fultz, Marcus Dinkins, Fran Hilton, Chuck Winslow, Damon Walker, Josh Butler, Larry Stell, Bill McKelvey, Brandon Butler.

Lap Leader- Gardner 1-6, Henderson 7-20.
Heat Winners- Lincoln, Henderson.

Freedom Village USA Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- BRADY WONDERLING, Brandon Smith, Dave DuBois, Bob Buono, Nate Daggett, Chris Peacock, Wally Wade, Mikey Wonderling, Rich Karlnoski, Dale Welty, Mike Wonderling, Jeremy Wonderling, Dave Miller (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Karlnoski 1, M. Wonderling 2-18, B. Wonderling 19-20.
Heat Winners- Karlnoski, J. Wonderling.

Labatt Blue Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- JARED HILL, Carl Cleveland, Frank, Chris Fisher, Josh Parker, Kevin Morrison, Jeremy Perkins, Bruce Kinner, Scott Sebring, Rich McIntyre, Jayme Gilbert, Mike Schroeder, Brandon Ameigh, Jarod Brown, Jim McAfee, Rich Bixby Jr., Rob Parker, Dan Smart (DNS), Gene Parker (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Gilbert 1, Hill 2-20.
Heat Winners- Guererri, McIntryre, Hill.

Signs Plus of Kanona 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- RICH SHARPSTEEN II, Terry Povoski, Joe Povoski, Chad Ayers, Ray Speicher, Phil Yaw, Scott Bradley, Brett Crawford, Russ Wassner, David Ahouse, Harry Ayers, C.J. Winslow, Brad Rathbun, Brent Ayers, Dave Matwiejow, Cody Moorehouse, Brian Thompson, Del Cummings, Jason Barrett, Andrew Wolfe, Todd Hayward, Tyler Siri, Erica Bell (DNS), Brent Kirk (DNS), Chad Winslow (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Wolfe 1-6, Yaw 7, Sharpsteen 8-15, T. Povoski 16, Sharpsteen 17-20.
Heat Winners- Matwiejow, Sharpsteen, Speicher.

Ladies 4-Cylinder Feature (10 Laps)- ERICA BELL, Jamie Schuyler, Paula Wallenbeck, Kailey Wassner, Nicole Knickerbocker, Sandy Eslick.

Lap Leaders- Knickerbocker 1, Bell 2-4, Knickerbocker 5-8, Bell 9-10.

Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- DYLAN CECCE, Josh Wallenbeck, Joshua DuBois, Brian Wilson, Noah Harrington, Cody Clemens, Jamie Eldredge Jr., Lisa Cornish.

Lap Leaders- Eldredge 1-2, Wallenbeck 3-8, Sharpsteen 9-10.

4-Cylinder Modified Feature (8 Laps)- ETHAN PRESTON, Tom Bayer, Chad Ayers, Gerald Bayer.

Lap Leaders- Preston 1-8
Heat Winners- Preston.

Old Timer’s Reunion Winner (10 Laps)- Earnest Fields

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Averdi Storage Containers

Insinger Racing Fuels

Doug Gross Construction

Winners Circle Deli

Friendly Dodge