May 16, 2009 03:15 AM EDT

Bobby Breen Best of the Patriots

Bobby Breen knew the track conditions on Friday Night were to his liking, and he made the most of the opportunity scoring a win at the track he won his first career feature.

Breen, 19, from Savannah, NY, picked up his fourth career Lucas Oil ASCS Patriot A-Main win on A-Verdi Storage Containers Night at the Black Rock Speedway in Dundee, NY. Breen lead all 25 laps and only had one other driver in his league, and that was Trevor Lewis.

After a caution in the first turn of the 25-lap A-main for contact between Justin Barger, Bubba Broderick and Joe August Jr., the race went green-to-checkered, with Breen and Lewis lapping up to ninth place and putting more than a half-track on third place Bryan Howland.

“I definitely like the track like this (heavy and fast), but my car really worked anywhere tonight,” added the modest youngster in Victory Lane. “It made things easier in lapped traffic and keep it going.

Breen took the lead on the drop of the green flag from the pole position and opened up an early advantage when outside polesitter Chuck Hebing and Jared Zimbardi swapped the runner-up spot. Trevor Lewis would eventually move around them and all the while the B.B.R. Restoration No. 9 was pulling away.

As Breen reeled in the back of the field by lap seven, Lewis started to close in with his United Crane No. 21L. While gap between the top two would hold stagnant at about one second, they would stretch it out over the rest of the field.

Breen and Lewis masterfully worked lapped traffic, with neither of them putting themselves in a precarious position. In the end, “Dobbers” would turn in 25 perfect laps, never giving Lewis a chance to capitalize.

Breen was quick from the time he and his team would unload the No. 9 on a beautiful spring afternoon. He was strong in hot laps, dominated his heat after starting in fifth and was consistent in the feature.

When asked to compare this win to his first career win on June 26, 2004, when he won at the age of 15 on youth night, his response was simple, “I started on the pole both times and lead every lap.”

For Trevor Lewis, from Upper Black Eddy, PA, the McLaren Motorsports No. 21L was strong again at the track he scored two straight Bully Hill Nationals Championships.

“We had a winning car tonight, unfortunately the No. 9 showed up,” Lewis joked after the race. Lewis was the winner of NPP Heat No. 2.

Chuck Hebing, the winner of Heat No. 1, was solid in third until lap 9 when he dropped out with mechanical problems. Hebing recorded the fastest time in Dundee since 2000 with a lap of 13.18 seconds.

After Cobra was snake bit, the gap from the top two to third grew exponentially. Bryan Howland would cross the finish line in third, some eight seconds after the leaders had come under the checkered flags.

It was another solid point night for Howland, as it was for Jared Zimbardi who carded a fourth place finish in his Bundle of Warmth No. 35.

Scott Kreutter, who for the second straight week struggled just to get his No. 52 to fire, made a daring move on Lance Yonge in the Four Laps of Fame to pick up the win in that event and start ninth for the feature. He would hustle up to round out the top-five in closing laps of the A-Verdi A-Main.

Alain Bergeron would also moved forward four spots to place in sixth, with Jessica Zemken solid for the second straight week in seventh. Local favorite Lance Yonge was eighth with Barto, PA Judi Bates placing ninth in her first start of the year. Bates was also the final car on the lead lap.

Bubba Broderick, who was involved in the opening lap incident, would fight his way forward to round out the top-10, despite falling a lap down.

A total of 29 sprint cars pulled into the pit area on a Chamber of Commerce Night. With it being the first leg of the A-Verdi King of Central New York Series, many teams focused on picking up that crown were on hand for that reason.

After starting off the year with trying track conditions, the Black Rock Speedway showed its true self on Friday was a tacky race surface that produced great racing. With 25 feet laid down on the inside of the corners in 2009, more passing took place throughout the night.

The caution flag flew only two times on the night for the sprints. The first was for the incident on the first lap of the A-Main, while the other came with three laps in the B-Main as Jeff Frasier’s No. 99 caught on fire after spewing oil on the engine.

For more information, visit or

Lucas Oil ASCS Patriots Results: 5/15/09, Black Rock Speedway, Dundee, NY.

A-Verdi A-Main (25 Laps)- 1. Bobby Breen (9), 2. Trevor Lewis (21L), 3. Bryan Howland (51), 4. Jared Zimbardi (35), 5. Scott Kreutter (52), 6. Alain Bergeron (8B), 7. Jessica Zemken (1z), 8. Lance Yonge (17J), 9. Judi Bates (121), 10. Bubba Broderick (5), 11. Gordy Button (714), 12. Bubby Kerrick (4u), 13. Tim Kelly (12), 14. T.J. Newton (57), 15. Don Adamczyk (21), 16. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 17. Doug Emery (33), 18. Joe August Jr. (47), 19. Dave Wickham (80), 20. Dan Kaszubinski (20), 21. Chuck Hebing (28), 22. Justin Barger (32).

Lap Leaders- Breen 1-25.

B-Main (12 Laps, Top-6 Transferred to A-Main)- 1. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 2. Justin Barger (32), 3. Doug Emery (33), 4. Don Adamczyk (21), 5. Tim Kelly (12), 6. T.J. Newton (57), 7. Ray Preston (22), 8. Jeff Cook (10), 9. Robbie Shuttleworth (11), 10. Derek Jonathan (81), 11. Brandon Warner (10b), 12. Jeff Frasier (99), 13. Gary Troutman (44).

Four Laps of Fame Dash (4 Laps)- 1. Scott Kreutter (52), 2. Alain Bergeron (8B), 3. Lance Yonge (17J), 4. Bubby Kerrick (4u), 5. Bubba Broderick (5), 6. Dave Wickham (80).

National Parts Peddler Heats (8 Laps Each)-
Race 1: 1. Chuck Hebing (28), 2. Gordy Button (714), 3. Judi Bates (121), 4. Dave Wickham (80), 5. Bubba Broderick (5), 6. Doug Emery (33), 7. Don Adamczyk (21), 8. Justin Barger (32), 9. Derek Jonathan (81), 10. Robbie Shuttleworth (11).
Race 2: 1. Trevor Lewis (21L), 2. Jessica Zemken (1z), 3. Lance Yonge (17J), 4. Jared Zimbardi (35), 5. Joe August Jr. (47), 6. Dan Kaszubinski (20), 7. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 8. Jeff Cook (10), 9. Ray Preston (22), 10. Brandon Warner (10b).
Race 3: 1. Bobby Breen (9), 2. Bryan Howland (51), 3. Dave Wickham (80), 4. Bubby Kerrick (4u), 5. Justin Barger (32), 6. T.J. Newton (57), 7. Tim Kelly (12), 8. Gary Troutman (44), 9. Jeff Fraiser (99).

Contingency Awards-
Ohsweken Speedway/Canadian Sprint Car Natioanls Award- Lewis
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Passing Points Award- Breen
M&W Aluminum Products Top-5 Award- Zimbardi
Ultra-Shield Race Products Top-10 Award- Zemken
Rod End Supply 20th Anniversary Award- Kaszubinski

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Averdi Storage Containers

Insinger Racing Fuels

Doug Gross Construction