Jun 16, 2007 12:45 AM EDT

Gil Tegg Wins First 358-Modified Race of Year at Black Rock, Jeremy Wonderling Captures Bud Foster Memorial.

DUNDEE, NY - Gil Tegg made it to the Black Rock Speedway late in the afternoon after putting the finishing touches on his brand new Troyer Chassis. Tegg would sweep the night and find Victory Lane for the first time in 2007.

“I was thinking that I wasn’t getting (to Victory Lane) because of the driver,” said Tegg after the event. “I didn’t want to trash the car on the first night so I took it easy but the car was awesome.”

Tegg took advantage of his early-season struggles to start near the front, allowing him to capture the lead before halfway.

Serenity Sutherland muscled the lead away from here brother Trevor on two occasions, but on a lap 11 restart, Sutherland chose the bottom line which allowed “Gilzilla” to drive around the No. 37 to get out in front.

Sutherland held on to second, withstand multiple charges from Dale Welty and Chris Clark. Tim Sebring was fifth in the Suzuki No. 45 on Suzuki Night.

Steve Paine was slowly moving up through the field when he and Ron White came together and slid over the banking in turn three. Paine would attempt to return but a broken left axle would end his night.

Ray Bliss also had a bad point night as he had a flat right rear on lap 13, putting him two laps down and hurting his position in the standings.

Mike Entwistle took the lead on lap two from Dave Yehl and led the rest of the way but had to hold off Yehl for the balance of the caution-free Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman feature.

Yehl made contact with the leader on lap 14 but ended up showing the high line to the driver of the John Juhl Construction No. m93. It was the first career win for Entwistle, who admitted that the early stages of the season was not what they had expected, but the win definitely helped.

Yehl was solid again this week for second with Loren Lincoln, Daryl Hilkert in fourth and Justin Wright rounding out the top-5.

Quinn Sutherland led the first 10 laps of the Bud Foster Memorial Feature for the Freedom Village USA Super Stocks but broke while holding on to a five second lead, handing the top spot over to Jeremy Wonderling.

After a lap 18 caution for Brady Wonderling, who was battling for third with Sparky Hills, it would set up the showdown between Jeremy Wonderling and Donnie Smith, unfortunately he had a broken right rear spring while riding under caution, relegating him to the pits.

With his dancing partner out of the event, the 2006 Champion, Jeremy Wonderling, pulled away to pick up the $1,000 top prize.

Sparky Hills was solid again to finish second with Glenn Writenhour, Bob Buono and Rich Karlnoski rounding out the top-5.

Rich Sharpsteen I finally found his way to victory lane but had to hold off a very fierce Frank Chapman Jr. in a similarly-painted street stock, as they swapped the lead a half-dozen times over the second half of the make-up 20-lap feature event. Chapman held onto second with Chris Fisher completing the top-three.

In the second feature, Frank Chapman jumped out front and had Sharpsteen behind him once again, but on lap 7 went darting into the pits and out of the event, leaving the door open for Chapman to regain his stranglehold on the division in a caution-free 20-lap event.

Behind Chapman, a wild battle ensued for second with Bubba Burnell having a solid point night, out dueling Nate Peckham and Andy Fisk for second. Darl Ellis Jr. was fifth.

Jared Hill was dominant for the third-straight Regional Truck and Trailer Pro Truck make-up feature. He pulled away from Ralph Champion and Terry Povoski in a caution-free event as the real battle was for second for most of the event. Michael Warren and Chris Leroux rounded out the top-5.

Terry Povoski got back to his dominating self in the second feature of the night, pulling away to win his fourth feature of the season. Jared Hill was in a solid second before pulling to the pits five laps short of the finish. Chris Leroux and Ralph Champion completed the podium position.

Kim Jennejohn proved in the make-up Signs Plus of Kanona 4-cylinder that her plentiful pavement experience transitions nicely to dirt. The first woman to qualify for a Race of Champions event at Oswego speedway passed Derrick Mills on lap 16 of the feature and pulled away to capture her first win in her third race of the season. Mills, Brett Crawford, Greg Crooker and Chris McCann completed the top-5 of feature one.

Del Cummings added to his newly-inherited point lead, as he got around Scott Yaw on lap 4 and held him off to capture his first win in a number of years in his No. 03. Behind Cummings and Yaw were Derrick Mills, Kim Jennejohn and Chris McCann.

Tom Austin Jr. stayed white hot in the Home Necessities Bandits feature as he took the lead from Erica Bell on lap 5 and captured his division-high 4th win of the season. Dylan Cecee was again strong to pick up second, holding off Bell and Kreg Crooker.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford