Jun 23, 2013 08:48 PM EDT

Mike Smith Wins IMCA Empire State Series Race at Black Rock Before Rain Hits

Rich Vleck, DUNDEE, NY, (June 23, 2013)- Mother Nature was overall unkind to the fans and racers at Black Rock Speedway on Sunday, then again, there were two dry windows that did allow the program to become official.


After ran stayed away from Dundee for much of the midday, a heavy rain storm hit just after the sportsman heats, forcing a delay of over two hours.  Once the track was worked back in, some great qualifiers along with the IMCA Modified feature were completed.  As the street stocks were on the track though, another heavy cell moved over the speedway and forced the postponement of the remainder of the street stock race and the others until Sunday, July 28.


The rain was a big break for Chris Fisher. The defending street stock champion, had led the first 13 laps, but fell back to second behind Brett Marlatt when the left rear tire went down on the No. 37, but before he had to go pitside, the red flag came out, allowing him to stay up front when the race resumes next month.


In just over two years of IMCA Modified competition at Black Rock, Mike Smith has won 20 races, but not until Friday had he captured a tour win.


Smith, the two-time IMCA Track Champion, took the lead form Rich Karlonski on lap four and then held a steady distance over hard chargers Mike Wilmot and Chris Fleming to pick up the biggest win at his home track.


After Smith had taken the lead, local favorite Phil Yaw, along with Karlnoski, both suffered mechanical failures, allowing guys like Wilmot and Fleming to find their way to the front.  Despite charging up front quickly, they could not seem to gain much ground on Smith.  Wilmot would hang on for second ahead of Fleming, Matt Roberts and Gary Robets.


Before any rain arrived in Dundee, Brandon Mathews swiftly picked up the win in the bandit division, becoming the first driver in the division to notch his second win of the year. Mathews moved by Joey Rodbourn on the opening lap then held a steady distance over Brandon Kinner and Allison Teed to revisit Victory Lane.


The 50/50 tickets that were sold will be carried over to the July 28 event as well and are still eligible for a prize.  For more information, visit


Black Rock Speedway Results: 6/23/2013-



Empire State Series IMCA Modified Feature (25 Laps)- MIKE SMITH, Mike Wilmot, Chris Fleming, Matt Roberts, Gary Roberts, Eddie Sites, Logan Terry, Matt Jones, Brad Sites, Scott Sebring, Jared Spalding, Tyler Stoddard, Phil Yaw, Keith Lamphere, Todd Stone, Greg Ward, Brian Steigerwald, Jason Benjamin, Rich Karlnoski, Mike Stoddard, Dan Searles, Rich Howard Jr.


Lap Leaders- Karlnoski 1-3, Smith 4-25.

Heat Winner- Howard, Karlnoski, Smith.


Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- BRANDON MATHEWS, Brandon Kinner, Allison Teed, Joey Rodbourn, Desiree Force, Matt Mashewske.


Lap Leaders- Rodbourn 1-2, Mathews 3-10.


Greg’s Auto Body Street Stock Feature Current Running Order(14 of 50 Laps Complete)- Brett Marlatt, Chris Fisher, Rich Green, Jeremy Potzrebowski, Rich Sharpsteen II, Cory Costa, Dylan Cecce, Daryl Krebs, Gene Balmer, Nate Daggett, Dave Matwiejow, Tracy Dunn, Kurt Stebbins, Tim Gullo, Gene Sharpsteen, Jeff Smith, Bob Buono, Jake Karlnoski, James Thompson, Harold Fenton (-3), Jeremy Perkins (-5), Gerg Crooker (-7), A.J. Potzrebowski (-8), Dan Smart (-9), Russ Morseman (-13).


Did Not Qualify: Chuck Winslow, Nick Robinson, Boby Maynard, Larry Fenton Jr., Lavern Knickerbocker III, Kevin Clark, Carl Cleveland.


Lap Leaders- Fisher 1-13, Marlatt 14-

Heat Winners- Karlnoski, Fisher, G. Sharpsteen, Green.

Consi Winner- Morseman.


Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Heat Winners- Daugherty, Gray, Hoag.


Signs Plus of Kanona/ Watkins Glen NAPA 4-Cylinder Heat Winners- Kreidler III, Cummings, Grant.



Front Wheel Drive 4 Cylinder Heat Winner- Mahrt.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Friendly Ford

RK Howell Gravel Products

DC Rauscher

NAPA of Addison, New York