Jun 2, 2013 06:47 PM EDT

Nicole Hoag Scores First Sportsman Win at Black Rock

By Morgan Colegrove, DUNDEE, NY, (May 31, 2013)- The ultra-competitive sportsman division added a new page in the record books on Friday Night when Nicole Hoag scored her first win in a feature event.

With previous feature winners and point leaders mired deep in the field at the start of the Sportsman feature, Hoag, who started sixth, quickly was into the lead by lap four and solidly paced the field through a couple of field-bunching cautions. Loren Lincoln provided the pressure through the midpoint of the race, after slipping by Brent Ayers for second, and showed Hoag the front wheels on a number of occasions. Despite starting 14th and 11th, respectively, previous feature winners Donnie Lawson and Ray Bliss were solidly in the top five shortly after the halfway point.  Lawson slipped by Chris Silvers, who had run third throughout most of the race, on the 17th lap, but was unable to overcome Lincoln in a tremendous three-car battle for the lead. Lincoln would hold off Lawson for second while Silvers and Bliss rounded out the top five.

In the Late Model event, defending track champion John Waters snagged the lead from Sparky Hills on lap three, and paced the field through lap nine, when uncharacteristic mechanical problems sent him pitside. Brothers Brian and Jason Knowles had been in a spirited debate for second, and turned it into a side-by-side battle for the lead. Brady Wonderling took over third on the tenth lap, and the trio put on a show at the front for the next few laps, with Jason taking the top spot with five laps remaining. Bruce Miller, who started tenth, decided it was time to go about the mid-point of the race, running 8th on lap 8, moving into 5th on lap 10, and driving into third by the 15th lap. Miller moved to the runner up spot with four laps remaining and was at Jason's rear bumper with three to go but Jason was able to fight off the challenge to score the win. Miller settled for second, with Brian Knowles crossing third, Wonderling fourth, and Steve LeBarron fifth.

The Street Stock feature was highlighted by a multi-car battle at the front throughout much of the event. Nate Daggett, Jeremy Potrzebowski, Dylan Cecce, Rich Sharpsteen, Jake Karlnoski, and Corey Costa kept the crowd on the edge of their seats, with Cecce holding the advantage through lap 14.  

His buddy Sharpsteen was scored second throughout much of the middle part of the race, but the other four drivers kept it close. Daggett retired on lap 13, which set up a wild three-wide battle for most of the next circuit.  As he did on opening night, Sharpsteen, the defending 4-cylinder champion, was able to come out on top, holding off a determined Costa. Potrzebowski slipped by Cecce in the closing laps to take third while Karlnoski rounded out the top five.

Todd Stone, Scott Sebring, and Phil Yaw provided the sparks at the front in the opening laps of the IMCA feature, with Yaw having the early advantage, but mechanical woes sidelining him on the fourth lap. Rich Karlnoski had powered into second by then, and grabbed the lead on the next circuit. Karlnoski's team had hit the perfect setup and the Dundee speedster three wheeled his way to a commanding lead. Last place starter and two-time track champion Mike Smith was in second by the sixth lap, but had nothing for Karlnoski as he cruised to the popular win. Mike Wilmot and Jake Maynard had an intense debate for third for much of the race, with Wilmot locking down the spot at the checkers. Bruce Tinsley finished fifth.

Billy Cagle, Brian Grant, Zach Teed and Jayson Smart swapped the top spots early in the Four Cylinder feature, with Grant taking command on lap six, and holding the top spot through lap thirteen. Brad Rathbun and point leader James Kreidler III, who both started near the back of the field, arrived at the front as the crossed flags were shown, with Kreidler taking over first on the 14th circuit. On the next lap, Rathbun slipped by Grant and set his sights on the lead. As the pair exited turn four looking at the two to go signal, Rathbun made a move to the inside and had the lead by a bumper at the line. Kreidler wouldn't go down easily and got back alongside a number of times, but had to settle for second for the first time this year. Grant crossed third, with Ray Speicher making a last lap pass on Scott Bradley to claim fourth.

Jason Trank and Adam Delgrosso ran wheel-to-wheel for most of the 12-lap FWD feature with Trank barely edging out the win. A few car lengths back, a three car battle for third kept the crowd trying to pick which group to watch. Wesley Houghtaling claimed that spot, over Nate Freeland and Craig Mahrt.

Early in the night, Allison Teed broke the tie for second place in the point standings with a win as the Home Neccessities Bandits.

While the regular Friday night competitors put on an outstanding show for the fans, the highlight of the night was the 1500+ horsepower Monster Trucks as The Equalizer and Red Solo Truck out of Virginia, and New York-based Toxic wowed the fans with jumps, power spins and wheelstands. The free style competition was intense, topped by The Equalizer executing a perfect back flip in the center of the front stretch, making the impossible look easy. In what is becoming a signature stunt, the Chevy Silverado, which in competition form easily tips the scales at over 15,000 pounds, lined up on the large wall of dirt, brought the 1700 horsepower supercharged big block to life and went vertical, and at one point was thirty feet or more off the ground, and upside down. A perfect four wheel landing was rewarded by a standing ovation as the Lucas Oil sponsored machine crab walked down the front straight in front of the fans after the awesome finale.

Next up is a Father’s Day Sunday Special, featuring a major event for each weekly class Black Rock runs.  For more information, visit

Black Rock Speedway Results: 5/31/2013-

Horseheads Pic-A-Part Night

Hoselton Auto Mall Crate Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- NICOLE HOAG, Loren Lincoln, Donnie Lawson, Chris Silvers, Ray Bliss, Brady Fults, Dale Welty, Chris Daugherty, Randy McCulloch, Scott Waters, A.J. Lloyd, Brent Ayers, Eric Bell, Josh Butler, John Agnew, Lance Keesey, Brandon Butler, Chris Fisher, Rick Newton, Ron Cartwright.

Heat Winners- Lincoln, Bliss, Lawson.

Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- JASON KNOWLES, Bruce Miller, Brian Knowles, Brady Wonderling, Steve LeBarron, Jared Hill, Ray Bliss, Brandon Smith, John Waters, Sparky Hills.

Heat Winners- B. Knolwes, Waters.

Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- RICH SHARPSTEEN II, Corey Costa, Jeremy Potrzebowski, Dylan Ceece, Jake Karlnoski, Jeremy Perkins, Bob Buono, Gene Balmer, Glenn Van Cise, Jesse Kent, Nate Daggett, Bruce Kinner, Les McCann, Rich Rider.

Heat Winners- Potzrebowski, Daggett.

IMCA Modified Feature (20 Laps)- RICH KARLNOSKI, Mike Smith, Mike Wilmot, Jake Maynard, Bruce Tinsley, Jared Keeney, Todd Stone, Dave Yehl, Rob Wilcox, J.J. Courcy, Phil Yaw, Scott Sebring.

Heat Winner- Karlnoski, Wilmot.

Signs Plus of Kanona/ Watkins Glen NAPA 4-Cylinder Feature (20 Laps)- BRAD RATHBUN, James Kreidler III, Brian Grant, Ray Speicher, Scott Bradley, Billy Cagle, Rick Horton, Zach Teed, Chad Ayers, Del Cummings, Erica Bell, Chris Mashewske, Chris Percy, Russ Wassner, Kailey Crandon, James Kreidler II, Joe Cron, Jayson Smart, Mike Ziarno, Chris Force

Heat Winners- Bradley, Kreidler III.

Front Wheel Drive 4 Cylinder Feature (12 Laps)- JEREMY TRANK, Adam Delgrosso, Wesley Houghtaling, Nate Freeland, Craig Mahrt.

Heat Winner- Trank

Home Necessities Bandits (10 Laps)- ALLISON TEED, Brandon Mathews, Joey Rodbourn, Matt Mashewske , Desiree Force, Billy Bowers, Trista Teed.

Friendly Dodge

Friendly Ford

Friendly Ford

RK Howell Gravel Products

DC Rauscher

NAPA of Addison, New York